Lunch @ Le Cinq – Paris

What?

Le Cinq

31 Avenue George V  
75008 Paris, France

www.fourseasons.com/paris/dining

Notable Accolades

Three Michelin Stars, Michelin Guide 2012

The Good

Very good food served at excellent prices as part of the restaurant’s set lunch menu. Amazing bordier butter with seaweed served with the bread courses. A stunning multi-course entrée consisting of five preparations of oysters. The large variety of options on the cheese cart and dessert trolley. The excellent service.

The Bad

The main desserts lack the imagination of the savoury courses or the appeal of the dessert trolley. My unnecessary decision to order an additional course of sweetbreads as part of my meal. That awkward moment when the server dropped a piece of cheese from the cheese trolley on to the floor for the third time.

The Meal

P1021638

Amuse Bouche #1

P1021639

Bordier butter with seaweed

P1021640

Amuse bouches #2

P1021641

Part 1 of my wife’s entree
Delight of oysters from Thau basin
“chaud-froid”, white wine broth, with curry-cumin, sorbet

P1021643

My entree
Grilled duck foie gras from the Landes region
with buckwheat, foamy parsnip syrup cream, dried duck shavings

P1021644

Part 2 of my wife’s entree
Delight of oysters from Thau basin
white wine broth, with curry-cumin

P1021647

Part 3 of my wife’s entree
Delight of oysters from Thau basin
sorbet

P1021649

Main course (my wife and I had the same)
Sea scallops from the Normandy region
browned in Colombo spices, tangy raisin, caramelised endives

P1021650

My supplementary course
Veal sweetbreads, browned with liquorice

P1021651

Vegetables served with my supplementary course
First green asparagus from the Luberon region stewed in the white sauce

P1021654

The cheese cart

P1021655

My cheese selection

P1021656

Pre-dessert

P1021658

Dessert (my wife and I shared the same course)
Cappacino delight
Pecan nuts praline, Moka coffee mouse

P1031660

Dessert trolley

P1031661

My wife’s dessert selection

P1031663

My dessert selection

2 thoughts on “Lunch @ Le Cinq – Paris

  1. Wow, the Paris Chowhounds are right on the money with their recs on this one! Added to my go to list, your review and pics clinched it-thanks!

Leave a Reply

